NCP leads in Baramati civic polls but loses president’s post to BJP

Written by | December 15, 2016 | 0

Pune: In Baramati, said to be bastion of Maratha strongman and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Founder Chief Sharad Pawar, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has given a big blow to the party by winning the president’s election.

Though the NCP is leading in all wards but 03 where the BJP candidates are ahead of their rivals, BJP candidate Jaisingh Deshmukh won president’s post in Baramati municipal council.

Meanwhile, Continuing its winning streak in Maharashtra the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) Thursday registered a thumping victory in Udgir Municipal Council elections by winning in 05 wards and leading in 02, according to State Election Commission.

In a strong show of support, the AIMIM candidate for president of the civic body is also ahead of his rivals in Udgir.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is ahead in 13 wards whereas the Congress party has won 05 seats and leading in 04 other wards in Udgir where election for the new civic body was held Wednesday and counting of votes is still underway.

AIMIM – a Hyderabad based party is led by MP Asaduddin Owaisi. The party has won 40 seats in the first phase of Maharashtra civic polls.

Counting of votes here are still underway and the final results are yet to be announced by the election commission.

Elsewhere in the state, the Congress party has won elections of Indapur Municipal Council whereas the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has bagged majority of seats in Ahmedpur, Latur district, according to the results announced by the State Election Commission today afternoon.

Civic elections for Indapur and Ahmedpur civic bodies were held along with 12 other municipalities Wednesday.

Counting of votes in all the civic bodies where elections were held yesterday began today morning amid tight security.

In Indapur, 77 candidates contested the polls on Wednesday for 17 seats and 7 for the post of council president.

In Latur district, for the 23-seat Ahmedpur municipality, there were 115 candidates in fray and six for post of council president.

As many as 1,326 candidates were in the fray for the 324 seats in 14 municipal councils. Similarly, 106 candidates were in race for the post of municipal council president in the two districts, an official of State Election Commission said.

In Pune district, for 39 seats in Baramati, 171 candidates contested the election and seven for the post of council president.

In Talegaon-Dabhade, 51 candidates contested for 26 seats and two for the post of the council president.

Similarly, for 25 seats in Lonavala, 111 candidates locked horns for councillors’ post and six others will try their luck for the post of council president.

In Daund, there were 112 candidates for 24 seats and nine for the post of council president, while in Junnar, 70 candidates locked horns for the 17 seats and 13 for the post of council chief.

In Shirur, there were 72 candidates for 21 seats and five for the post of the council president. In Alandi, there were 57 candidates for 18 seats and eight for post of the council president.

There were 53 candidates in race for 17 seats in Jejuri and five for the post of council chief.

“There are total 435 polling booths total 2,522 officials have been deployed at these polling stations in Pune district,” said the officer.

In Ausa, there were 101 candidates for 20 seats and 13 for position of council president. In Nilanga, there were 100 candidates for 20 seats and seven for post of Council chief.

In the first phase, election to 147 municipal councils and 17 nagar panchayats across 25 districts in Maharashtra, were held on November 27.

The ruling BJP emerged as the major gainer in the first phase of elections winning highest number of seats at 893, out of the total 3,727 seats.

It also won 51 municipal chief’s posts, followed by Shiv Sena with 25, Congress 23 and NCP with 18 posts.

Filed in: National

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply