Punjab assembly elections: AAP names five more candidates, replaces two

Written by | December 5, 2016 | 0

Chandigarh: AAP on Sunday announced its sixth list of five candidates for the upcoming Assembly election and replaced two more candidates.

The party has replaced Punjab NRI wing head Jagtar Singh Sanghera from Nakodar with Sarwan Singh Hayer, a progressive dairy farmer. State AAP convener Gurpreet Singh Waraich said the party has decided to give him additional responsibility in the state.

Also, Giriraj Singh Rajoura has been dropped from Balluana as he was not able to campaign effectively and Simarjit Singh, a farmer and volunteer, has been named in his place.

The party has also given ticket to two volunteers, who would take on two SAD heavyweights. Ranjit Singh Cheema, 36, an agriculturist, blood donor and volunteer, will take on SAD’s Food Minister Adesh Partap Singh Kairon at Patti. Another volunteer, a petroleum dealer and industrialist, Manjit Singh Sidhu, will take on Akali Rural Development Minister Sikandar Singh Maluka from Rampura Phul.

Harkrishan Singh Walia, president of Jalandhar Car Dealers’ Association, is the AAP candidate from Jalandhar Cantonment, represented by former Olympian Pargat Singh, an Akali MLA who has now resigned and joined Congress. Dinesh Bansal, an activist of the Anna Hazare movement and local trader, has been fielded from Sangrur. Ashutosh Joshi, is the party nominee from Rajpura.

Filed in: National

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply