Curfew enforced in some parts of Srinagar

Written by | October 10, 2016 | 0

Srinagar: Authorities today clamped curfew in 11 police station areas of Srinagar as a precautionary measure in view of the eighth day of Muharram. A police official said the police station areas in which the curbs on the movement of people have been imposed are Nowhatta, Khanyar, Rainawari, Safakadal, Maharaj Gunj, Maisuma, Ram Munshi Bagh, Kral Khud, Shaheed Gunj, Karan Nagar and Batamaloo. The official said the curbs were imposed as a precautionary measure to maintain law and order.

The traditional Muharram procession used to pass through these areas, but have been banned since eruption of militancy in 1990 as authorities maintain that the religious gathering has been used for propagating separatist politics.

Meanwhile, normal life remained affected for the 94th consecutive day in the rest of the Valley following killing of Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani in an encounter with security forces on July 8.

Filed in: National

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply